Highest Wicket Taker in Each IPL Season

Highest Wicket Taker in Each Season of IPL

Every season of the Indian Premier League has its own purple and orange cap holders. The purple cap signifies the highest wicket-taking bowler in the season, while the orange cap signifies the most runs in the season.

IPL 2020 has ended with Kagiso Rabada wearing the purple cap. At the same time, Bhuvneshwar Kumar is the only bowler in the league to take the most wickets in back-to-back IPL seasons.

The Indian Premier League is quite fun for both bowlers and batsmen. Spinners and pacers show their talent to win the race of holding a purple cap.

IPL 2020 had the Proteas speedster Kagiso Rabada topping the tablet of Highest Wicket Taker in IPL. The right-arm fast bowler picked 30 wickets, with 4/24 being his best performance in 17 matches.

Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, the pacer from Sunrisers Hyderabad, is the only bowler to achieve the top spot of Highest Wicket Taker in IPL in two consecutive years. He accomplished this position in IPL 2016 and 2017.

The inaugural season of IPL in 2008 seen Pakistani bowler Sohail Tanvir, left-arm, picking up most wickets (22 wickets in 11 matches) holding the purple cap.

Purple Cap Winner From 2008 To 2020

Sohail Tanvir Rajasthan Royals22 wickets2008
RP SinghDeccan Chargers23 wickets2009
Pragyan Ojha Deccan Chargers21 wickets2010
Lasith MalingaMumbai Indians28 wickets2011
Morne MorkelDelhi Daredevils (DC)25 wickets2012
Dwayne BravoChennai Super Kings32 wickets2013
Mohit SharmaChennai Super Kings23 wickets2014
Dwayne Bravo Chennai Super Kings26 wickets2015
Bhuvneshwar Kumar Sunrisers Hyderabad23 wickets2016
Bhuvneshwar KumarSunrisers Hyderabad26 wickets2017
Andrew TyeKings XI Punjab24 wickets2018
Imran TahirChennai Super Kings26 wickets2019
Kagiso RabadaDelhi Capitals30 wickets2020

Also Know

VIVO IPL Season 14 Schedule, Fixtures, Dates