Highest Wicket Taker in Test Cricket - Cricket Matches Today

Highest Wicket Taker in Test Cricket

Today we are going to tell you about some of the best bowlers of Test cricket around the world. Being a cricket lover, you must be willing to know about the highest wicket-taking bowlers of the test match. Before this, let us tell you that batsmen’s contribution in a cricket match is as much as that of bowlers.

If there is a good bowler in a team, it is not easy to defeat it. Talking about cricket’s oldest format, it is very important for bowlers to take wickets in it. Although many people like batsmen, there is no dearth of bowler lovers either. Many people want to know who is the highest wicket-taker in Test matches.

Test matches have been played ever since the birth of the gentlemen’s game. After some time, two new formats ODI and T20, have been added to cricket, which is greatly liked. Still, many people consider Test as real cricket because in this format, the batsmen have the practice of staying at the wicket, and the bowlers have the passion for taking wickets.

Well, for your information, Sachin Tendulkar has scored the most runs in the Tests. Sachin has played a total of 200 matches in his Test career; during this time, he has scored 15921 runs in 329 innings. Sachin played his first Test match in the year 1989 and the last Test in the year 2013.

Now, coming back to our main topic, Sri Lankan bowler Muttiah Muralitharan is in the first place in the list of Highest Wicket Takers in Test Cricket. He started his Test career in the year 1992 and played his last Test match in the year 2010. During this time, he has played a total of 133 games, taking 800 wickets in 230 innings. His best performance has been to take 9 wickets for 51 runs. Muralitharan has done 22 times to take 10 wickets in a match.

In second place is former Australian bowler Shane Warne. Shane Warne also started his Test career in the year 1992. In 2007, he played his last Test match. Warne has played a total of 145 matches in his career, taking 708 wickets in 273 innings. He has done 10 times in his Test career to take 10 wickets in a match. Shane Warne’s best performance is taking 8 wickets for 71 runs.

In third place is former Indian bowler Anil Kumble, who has also become Team India’s coach. He started his Test career in the year 1990 and played his last Test match in the year 2008. Anil Kumble has played a total of 132 matches in his career, taking 619 wickets in 236 innings. His best performance is taking 10 wickets for 74 runs. At the same time, he has the title of taking 10 wickets in a match 8 times.

Here we have the list of the top 20 Test Wicket Taking Bowlers. Well, let’s inform you that former India bowler Anil Kumble is the only bowler who has taken 10 wickets in an innings in a Test Match.

The List of Top Wicket Takers In Test Cricket Is Here:

PlayerSpanMatInnsBallsRunsWktsAveEconSR5 W10 W
M Muralitharan (ICC/SL)1992-2010133230440391818080022.722.47556722
SK Warne (AUS)1992-2007145273407051799570825.412.6557.43710
A Kumble (INDIA)1990-2008132236408501835561929.652.6965.9358
JM Anderson (ENG)2003-2020151282327791567058426.832.8656.1283
GD McGrath (AUS)1993-2007124243292481218656321.642.4951.9293
CA Walsh (WI)1984-2001132242300191268851924.442.5357.8223
SCJ Broad (ENG)2007-2020136250277931373047928.662.9658172
DW Steyn (SA)2004-201993171186081007743922.953.2442.3265
N Kapil Dev (INDIA)1978-1994131227277401286743429.642.7863.9232
HMRKB Herath (SL)1999-201893170259931215743328.072.860349
Sir RJ Hadlee (NZ)1973-19908615021918961143122.292.6350.8369
SM Pollock (SA)1995-200810820224353973342123.112.3957.8161
Harbhajan Singh (INDIA)1998-2015103190285801353741732.462.8468.5255
Wasim Akram (PAK)1985-200210418122627977941423.622.5954.6255
CEL Ambrose (WI)1988-20009817922103850140520.992.354.5223
M Ntini (SA)1998-2009101190208341124239028.823.2353.4184
NM Lyon (AUS)2011-202096184245681232039031.58362.9183
IT Botham (ENG)1977-1992102168218151087838328.42.9956.9274
MD Marshall (WI)1978-19918115117584787637620.942.6846.7224
Waqar Younis (PAK)1989-20038715416224878837323.563.2543.4225
Imran Khan (PAK)1971-19928814219458825836222.812.5453.7236
R Ashwin (INDIA)2011-20197013119412918336225.362.8353.6277
DL Vettori (ICC/NZ)1997-2014113187288141244136234.362.5979.5203
DK Lillee (AUS)1971-19847013218467849335523.922.7552237
WPUJC Vaas (SL)1994-2009111194234381050135529.582.6866122
AA Donald (SA)1992-20027212915519734433022.252.8347203
RGD Willis (ENG)1971-19849016517357819032525.22.8353.4160
MG Johnson (AUS)2007-20157314016001889131328.43.3351.1123
Z Khan (INDIA)2000-201492165187851024731132.943.2760.4111
B Lee (AUS)1999-20087615016531955431030.813.4653.3100
M Morkel (SA)2006-20188616016498855030927.663.153.380
LR Gibbs (WI)1958-19767914827115898930929.091.9887.7182
FS Trueman (ENG)1952-19656712715178662530721.572.6149.4173
DL Underwood (ENG)1966-19828615121862767429725.832.173.6176
JH Kallis (ICC/SA)1995-201316627220232953529232.652.8269.250
I Sharma (INDIA)2007-20199617318010954429232.683.1761.6101
CJ McDermott (AUS)1984-19967112416586833229128.633.0156.9142
TG Southee (NZ)2008-20197113216002805327029.823.0159.291
BS Bedi (INDIA)1966-19796711821364763726628.712.1480.3141
Danish Kaneria (PAK)2000-20106111217697908226134.793.0767.8152
J Garner (WI)1977-19875811113169543325920.972.4750.870
JN Gillespie (AUS)1996-20067113714234677025926.132.8554.980
TA Boult (NZ)2011-20196512314448717125628.012.9756.481
GP Swann (ENG)2008-20136010915349764225529.962.9860.1173
JB Statham (ENG)1951-19657012916056626125224.842.3363.791
MA Holding (WI)1975-19876011312680589824923.682.7950.9132
R Benaud (AUS)1952-19646311619108670424827.032.177161
MJ Hoggard (ENG)2000-20086712213909756424830.53.265671
GD McKenzie (AUS)1961-19716011317681732824629.782.4871.8163
MA Starc (AUS)2011-20205710911753658324426.973.3648.1132
BS Chandrasekhar (INDIA)1964-1979589715963719924229.742.765.9162
AV Bedser (ENG)1946-1955519215918587623624.892.2167.4155
J Srinath (INDIA)1991-20026712115104719623630.492.8564101
Abdul Qadir (PAK)1977-19906711117126774223632.82.7172.5155
GS Sobers (WI)1954-19749315921599799923534.032.2291.960
AR Caddick (ENG)1993-20036210513558699923429.913.0957.9131
CS Martin (NZ)2000-20137112614026787823333.813.3760.1101
D Gough (ENG)1994-2003589511821650322928.393.351.690
RR Lindwall (AUS)1946-19606111313650525122823.032.359.8120
SJ Harmison (ENG/ICC)2002-20096311513375719222631.823.2259.181
A Flintoff (ENG/ICC)1998-20097913714951741022632.782.9766.130
VD Philander (SA)2011-20206211611166490822222.12.6350.2132
PM Siddle (AUS)2008-20196712613907677722130.662.9262.980
CL Cairns (NZ)1989-20046210411698641021829.43.2853.6131
CV Grimmett (AUS)1925-1936376714513523121624.212.1667.1217
HH Streak (ZIM)1993-20056510213559607921628.142.6962.770
MG Hughes (AUS)1985-1994539712285601721228.382.9357.971
RA Jadeja (INDIA)2012-2019489212822520021124.642.4360.791
Shakib Al Hasan (BDESH)2007-2019569513020653721031.123.0162182
Yasir Shah (PAK)2014-2019387111975636120930.433.1857.2163
SCG MacGill (AUS)1998-2008448511237603820829.023.2254122
Saqlain Mushtaq (PAK)1995-2004498614070620620829.832.6467.6133
N Wagner (NZ)2012-2020478810635543320426.633.0652.190
AME Roberts (WI)1974-1983479011135517420225.612.7855.1112
JA Snow (ENG)1965-1976499312021538720226.662.6859.581
JR Thomson (AUS)1972-19855190105355601200283.1852.680

Also Read: 

ICC Men’s T-20 Player Ranking

ICC Men’s ODI Player Ranking

ICC Men’s Test Player Ranking