Kieron Pollard slams 17-ball 50 vs CSK - Cricket Matches Today

IPL 2021: Kieron Pollard Slams 17 Balls 50 (Fastest Fifty in IPL 2021) vs CSK

Kieron Pollard Hits Fastest fifty in IPL 2021

During a thrilling encounter between Mumbai Indians (MI) and Chennai Super Kings (CSK), Kieron Pollard hit the fastest fifty this season.

Before, Prithvi Shaw was the one to hit the fastest fifty of the Indian Premier League 2021. The right-handed batsman and opener of Delhi Capitals scored a massive 50 off 18 balls in the 25th Match of Vivo IPL 2021 against Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR).

Today, Kieron Pollard outclassed Shaw by scoring the fastest fifty of IPL 2021 so far. The Mumbai Indians star Pollard scored his fifty to help the team chase a huge total of 219 runs set by the Chennai Super Kings. Pollard’s 87 not out of 34 balls helped Mumbai Indians win the match against Chennai Super Kings while chasing a massive total.

Kieron Pollard has been a star player of the franchise since he joined the blue team. Mumbai Indians won IPL titles five times due to its terrific performance in the league for the past few years. 

After raining sixes from Ambati Rayudu, Kieron Pollard kept the spectators glued to their seats until the match’s final ball. The nail-biting encounter between CSK and MI was the last ball decider. MI started well, but after the fall of a few wickets, the defending champions seem to be struggling only for a short time as Kieron Pollard played an explosive inning against Chennai.

The hard-hitting Indies player notched up the fastest half-century of the ongoing season in just seventeen balls. Pollard broke Shaw’s record to top the charts and beat CSK. The all-rounder hit Shardul Thakur for some classy back-to-back boundaries to get his fifty in style. Scoring his half-century, Pollard hit CSK bowlers for three fours and six sixes.

List of all the top 10 fastest fifties in IPL history

PositionPlayerAgainstVenueMatch DateBalls Faced6s4sRuns
1KL RahulDCIS Bindra Stadium08 April 2018144651
2Yusuf PathanSRHEden Gardens24 May 2014157572
3Sunil NarineRCBM. Chinnaswamy Stadium07 May 2017154654
4Suresh RainaPBKSWankhede Stadium30 May 20141661287
5Chris GaylePWIM. Chinnaswamy Stadium23 April 2013171713175
6Hardik PandyaKKREden Gardens28 April 2019179691
7Kieron PollardCSKArun Jaitley Stadium01 May 2021178687
8Adam GilchristDCSupersport Park22 May 20091751085
9Chris MorrisGLArun Jaitley Stadium27 April 2016178482
10Nicholas PooranSRHDubai International Cricket Stadium08 October 2020177577