World Test Championship Final 2021, Date, Venue, Team & Tickets - Cricket Matches Today

World Test Championship Final 2021 India VS New Zealand

The World Test Championship final is around the corner, and every cricket lover is super excited to see the first-ever final match of the World Test Championship 2019-2021. The expected to be thrilling match will be played between India and New Zealand after 9 cricketing nations played the Test series from 2019 to 2021. The points table has India on the top with 12 wins and 520 points, followed by New Zealand with 7 wins and 420 points.

WTC Final Date: Fri, 18 Jun, 2021 – Wed, 23 Jun, 2021

Team India Squad For World Test Championship

Virat Kohli (Captain)Axar Patel
Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain)Washington Sundar
Rohit SharmaJasprit Bumrah
Shubman GillIshant Sharma
Mayank AgarwalMohd. Shami
Cheteshwar PujaraMd. Siraj
Hanuma VihariShardul Thakur
Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper)Umesh Yadav
R. AshwinKL Rahul (Subject to fitness clearance)
Ravindra JadejaWriddhiman Saha (WK; Subject to fitness clearance)

Team New Zealand Squad For World Test Championship

Kane Williamson (Captain)Tom Latham
Tom BlundellDaryll Mitchell
Trent BoultHenry Nicholls
Tim SoutheeAjaz Patel
Doug BracewellRachin Ravindra
Devon ConwayMitchell Santner
Colin de GrandhommeRoss Taylor
Jacob DuffyNeil Wagner
Matt HenryBJ Watling (WK)
Kyle JamiesonWill Young

World Test Championship 2019-2021 Schedule 

Starting dateSeries nameTeamsNo. of matches
1 Aug 2019The AshesEngland v Australia5
14 Aug 2019NZ tour of SL 2019Sri Lanka v New Zealand2
22 Aug 2019IND tour of WI 2019West Indies v India2
02 Oct 2019Freedom TrophyIndia v South Africa3
14 Nov 2019BAN tour of IND 2019India v Bangladesh2
21 Nov 2019ENG tour of NZ 2019New Zealand v England2
21 Nov 2019PAK tour of AUS 2019Australia v Pakistan2
12 Dec 2019Trans-Tasman TrophyAustralia v New Zealand3
26 Dec 2019Basil D’Oliveira TrophySouth Africa v England4
7 Feb 2020BAN tour of PAK 2020Pakistan v Bangladesh2
21 Feb 2020IND tour of NZ 2020New Zealand v India2
19 Mar 2020ENG tour of SL 2020Sri Lanka v England2
8 Jul 2020WI tour of ENG 2020England v West Indies4
5 Aug 2020PAK tour of ENG 2020England v Pakistan3
17 Dec 2020Border Gavaskar TrophyAustralia v India4
3 Dec 2020WI tour of NZ 2020New Zealand v West Indies3
26 Dec 2020PAK tour of NZ 2020New Zealand v Pakistan2
26 Dec 2020SL tour of SA 2021South Africa v Sri Lanka2
14 Jan 2021ENG tour of SL 2021England v Sri Lanka2
3 Feb 2021WI tour of BAN 2021Bangladesh v West Indies3
5 Feb 2021ENG tour of IND 2021India v England5
26 Jan 2021SA tour of PAK 2021Pakistan v South Africa2
21 March 2021SL tour of WI 2021West Indies v Sri Lanka2
21 April 2021BAN tour of SL 2021Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh2
18 Jun 2021India vs New Zealand 2021 (Final)India vs New Zealand1

This is the first-ever edition of the tournament that started in August 2019, comprising 6 Test match series. The Final of the World Test Championship will take place at the Rose Bowl in Southampton, starting from 18th June 2021.


When will be the World Test Championship final?

The WTC final will be held between India and New Zealand at the Rose Bowl Stadium, Southampton.

Who will play the final match of WTC?

India and New Zealand will be playing in the WTC final.

How many test matches will be played in the WTC final?

Only a single test match will be played in the WTC final.

What happens if the WTC final draws?

If the final test match of the World Test Championship gets drawn, both the teams will be declared joint winners.

Why ICC changed the venue of the World Test Championship final?

Due to the Covid-19 pandemic that affected all the recent cricketing events, ICC had to change the WTC final venue. The World Test Championship final venue was the Lord’s stadium initially, which was later shifted to the Rose Bowl Stadium, Southampton, for the safe execution of the highly anticipated final match as well as the safety of players amid the threat of Covid-19 pandemic.

Is the Ashes series also a part of the World Test Championship?

The inaugural session of the World Test Championship started with the Ashes series in 2019. The championship will end in June 2021, with its final played between India and New Zealand.

When will the second WTC hold?

The second World Test Championship will be played from July 2021 to June 2023.

Who is at the top of the ICC World Test Championship table?

According to the recent annual rankings update on 6th March 2021 by the ICC, India tops the current points table of the World Test Championship. The team topping the points table on 1st April every year will win a cash prize of $1 million as of now.